Prompt: Favorite Food to Cook

I am 100% Polish ethnically. I love to cook Polish food such as golumbki (stuffed cabbage), pierogi (filled dumplings), and chrusciki (angel wing pasty). But probably my favorite to make is a typical Polish supper of kielbasa and sauerkraut.

I get both fresh and smoked kielbasa. I boil the fresh kielbasa. While that is cooking, I sauté onions in butter. I drain and rinse a large jar of sauerkraut, squeezing all the liquid out. When the onions are transparent, I add the sauerkraut and salt and pepper to taste. When the sauerkraut is done simmering, I place it in a roasting pan and top it with both types of kielbasa. Then into the oven it goes.

Next I boil several potatoes until tender. I peel and quarter them and place them in a bowl with butter. For a side dish, I thinly slice cucumbers and green onions. I mix them in a bowl along with sour cream, salt and pepper and dill weed. For a second side dish, I sauté more onions in butter, drain several cans of mushrooms and then add them to the pan. I cover and simmer them.

When the kielbasa is heated through, I remove it from the oven. Joining the meat and vegetables on the table will be horseradish, rye bread, butter, and beer. Smaczne!

Leave a comment